Sonata No. 1 for Clarinet and Piano

York Bowen, arr. Andrew DeBoer


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: PZA30096 Category:


Among York Bowen’s many works, there is a significant body of viola works. Many of these viola works were written for the English violist Lionel Tertis, whose mission was to promote viola through the commissioning of viola works from a variety of composers. Bowen composed this Sonata No. 1 in C Minor for viola and piano in 1905. The piece was first performed by Tertis on viola and Bowen on piano. While touring in Germany with Tertis, Bowen received glowing reviews of both his playing and his viola works. This sonata was presumably among these works.

– Andrew DeBoer (arranger)

Additional information

Weight 10.4 oz


Included Parts

Featured Instrument

Ensemble Type