Passacaglia for Woodwind Trio

Johan Halvorsen, arr. Peter Simpson


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: PZA20005 Category:


Written in 1897 by Norwegian composer Johan Halvorsen, this Passacaglia is one of very few works of his that are commonly performed today. This edition is edited by bassoonist Peter Simpson. It is a virtuosic tour de force for violin and viola duo based on a theme by Handel. There are several alternate duet versions for strings. Because of multiple stops and constant playing in the string parts, three winds were needed to realize the piece successfully. Halvorsen was a student of Grieg, and his romantic style differs from anything originally composed for reed trio.

Solo Parts Included: Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon

Additional information

Weight 4.8 oz


Included Parts

, ,

Ensemble Type