Dream Journal for Brass Quintet

Robert Cohen


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: PZA60078 Categories: ,


Dream Journal was inspired by the dream analysis of Sigmund Freud. Each of the four movements (“Hunted,” “Just out of Reach,” “Into the Bottomless Pit” & “Floating on the Wind”) explores a classic dream scenario. “Hunted” is a chase scenario, with the protagonist being pursued by some unknown predator. When it seems as if the danger is past, the case starts all over again. Just as capture is imminent, the dreamer abruptly wakes up. “Just out of Reach” musically portrays the melancholy longing of some forgotten memory – a lover, a pet, a friend. “Into the Bottomless Pit” is the fear of falling into the unknown, while in “Floating on the Wind” we are flying through the air: blissful, free and content.

Score and parts included: Trumpet 1 & 2, Horn, Trombone, Tuba

Additional information

Weight 10.2 oz

Ensemble Type

Included Parts

, , ,