Concerto in A Minor for Euphonium and Piano

Antonio Vivaldi, arr. Gretchen Renshaw


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: PZA80033 Category:


Antonio Vivaldi (1687-1741) wrote his “Concerto in A minor, Op. 3, No. 6, RV 365” in 1711 as a part of “L’estro Armonico” (Harmonic Inspiration), a set of twelve concertos for various combinations of instruments. One of the best known of this set is the sixth, which was originally written for solo violin, second violin, viola, and continuo. In this edition, the soloist will find throughout the score “solo” and “tutti” markings, which indicate the places where, in the original version, the principal violin plays as a soloist or together with the second violin part. The euphonium soloist should play with a light, agile sound in “solo” sections and a fuller sound in “tutti” sections. While negotiating the significant technical challenges involved in playing a piece originally written for the violin, the performer may enjoy the intensity and excitement of Vivaldi’s compositional style.

–Gretchen Renshaw

Solo parts included: Vivaldi/trans. Gretchen Renshaw

Additional information

Weight 4.8 oz


Included Parts

Featured Instrument

Ensemble Type