Wind Octet (printed and shipped)

Jonathan Russell


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: PZA20003-S Category: Tag:


Composer Jonathan Russell on “Wind Octet”:

“The ‘Wind Octet’ was composed as a companion piece to Mozart’s C Minor Wind Serenade, and premiered alongside it. In addition to writing for the same instrumentation, I wanted to find a way to channel the spirit of Mozart’s work, but to re-interpret it in my own way. One thing I love about Mozart’s wind writing is his combination of sonic resonance and clarity of texture. His works have a lush and rich sound, yet they are always clear and balanced, never heavy or bloated. I looked carefully at how Mozart voices his harmonies and utilizes the colors of the different instruments. I also wanted to tap into the dramatic power of the Mozart serenade, with its wide range and depth of emotuin. Mozart’s classical forms and refined technique in no way limit the emotional intensity of his music, and I wanted to achieve something similar in my own work.”

Solo Parts Included: Oboes 1-2, Clarinets 1-2, Horns 1-2, Bassoons 1-2

Additional information

Weight 10.4 oz

Included Parts

, , ,

Ensemble Type