Uprising for Trombone Quintet and Tuba

John Hansen


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: PZA80052 Category:


The piece was written for Sergio Carolino in December 2008, featuring the solo tuba with a trombone quintet. The solo tuba part moves in and out of the ensemble throughout the piece, and demands a lot technically from the tubist. “Uprising” has the potential to mean a variety of things, but in this case is mainly intended to signify the subconscious impulses that we all have and their journey from ambiguously pure subjectivity to distorted expression.

The work can be divided into three parts, the first of which symbolizes the initial abstraction. It builds to become increasingly dissonant before slowing down in the second section, which is more contemplative and directed than the first. Closing the piece is a passage that is a faster echo of the first part, having benefited from the preceding material, much like the expression of an idea after having been internally canvassed.

–Jon Hansen

Solo parts included: Trombone 1, Trombone 2, Trombone 3, Bass Trombone 1, Bass Trombone 2, Tuba

Additional information

Weight 9.6 oz

Included Parts


Ensemble Type