States of Mind for Bass Clarinet and Piano (printed and shipped)

Stephen Emmons


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: PZA30172-S Category:


From the composer:

Each movement of States of Mind depicts a different psychological state of mind. The first movement, Sleepless Anxiety, represents the tension we often feel about unresolved issues in our lives. The repeated notes in the piano are like a ticking clock, and the repetitious and unresolved lines in the bass clarinet are the recurring thoughts that haunt sleepless nights. The second movement, Brooding and Acceptance, portrays a preoccupation with painful thoughts, followed by the acceptance of what has happened or what must be done. The third and final movement, Confidence, references the main motives from the previous movements and embodies the resolution of the problem while pointing confidently toward the future.

  • Stephen Emmons

Solo parts included: bass clarinet

Score included


Additional information

Weight 5.5 oz


Ensemble Type


Featured Instrument