Nun Komm der Heiden Heiland, BWV 62 for Clarinet Choir

J. S. Bach, arr. Tierney O'Brien


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: PZA30029 Category:


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) wrote the cantata Nun Komm, der Heiden Heiland BWV 62 based on the chorale by Martin Luther of the same name. Its first performance was in Leipzig in 1724. This arrangement is the first movement of the six-movement work, which was originally scored for chorus and orchestra.

The inspiration for arranging this work was the pure desire to play Bach in a group that could otherwise not. In using four Bb clarinets, three A clarinets, and two Bb bass clarinets, I hoped to achieve a diversity of timbre like that of the original instrumentation.

–Tierney O’Brien

Solo parts included: Clarinet 1, Clarinet 2, Clarinet 3, Clarinet 4, Clarinet 5 (in A), Clarinet 6 (in A), Clarinet 7 (in A), Bass Clarinet 1, Bass Clarinet 2

Additional information

Weight 12 oz


Included Parts

Ensemble Type