Notes from the Underground for Euphonium and Piano

Robert Mueller


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: PZA80169 Category:


Notes from the Underground, for euphonium and piano, was commissioned by and composed for euphonium artist Ben Pierce in 2011. Aside from the obvious references to the great work of Fyodor Dostoyevsky, the main impetus for the piece was the artistry and absolute mastery of the instrument displayed by Dr. Pierce. The first movement, entitled, “Existential Ballade,” involves the duo in a mournful dialog that soon turns into a display of raw power. “Elegy for Nothingness,” the slow movement that follows, is neither happy nor sad; but perhaps nonchalantly disconnected from emotion. “The Inevitable Moto Perpetuo” closes the work in a flash, but not without some reminiscing and hand wringing.

Additional information

Weight 6.4 oz

Included Parts

Featured Instrument

Ensemble Type