Let My Prayer Arise, Op. 24, No. 6 for Euphonium and Trombone Quartet (printed and shipped)

Pavel Chesnokov, arr. Robert Pendergast


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: PZA80164-S Category:


Let My Prayer Arise, Op. 24, No. 6 was written in 1910 as part of the Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts. This predominately Eastern Orthodox Lenten ceremony is held in the evening during Holy Week, usually on Wednesday and/or Friday. These vespers are quite solemn and are preceded by a day of total fasting and spiritual preparation. The Op. 24, No. 6 is a setting of Psalm 141. This Psalm is sung after the priest blesses a kneeling congregation with a lighted candle and the words, “the light of Christ illumes all.” While the Psalm is sung, an offering of incense is given. This mirrors the imagery of the Psalm; “Let my prayer arise in Thy sight as incense; and let the lifting up of my hands be an evening sacrifice.” The Holy Eucharist is not consecrated during this service. The Host offered is blessed on the previous Sunday, hence the name Presanctified Gifts.

The original scoring of Op. 24 No. 6 is for solo alto voice and male chorus. It has also been adapted for solo voice with mixed choir, as well as, transcribed for instrumental ensemble. This arrangement utilizes the vocal qualities of the trombone. The choice of the euphonium as the solo voice is intended to emulate the broad, deep sound of the Russian basso profundo.

Solo Parts Included: Solo Euphonium (BC and TC), Trombone 1-3, Bass Trombone

Additional information

Weight 6.4 oz


Included Parts


Featured Instrument

Ensemble Type