Flying Circus for Brass and Percussion Ensemble (printed and shipped)

Jim Self


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: PZA60060-S Categories: , , Tag:


From the composer:

Flying Circus was commissioned by the Pacific Brass Ensemble and was premiered in January 2002. It is a three movement work (fast-slow-fast).

Movement 1, Barnstorming, like its title, is energetic and extroverted. A fanfare intro is followed by soli statements in each of the brass families.

Movement 2, Castles in the Sky, is a slow ballad with many contrapuntal solo lines leading into a 12/8 waltz. The middle section features a tuba quartet. This movement was completed shortly after September 11, 2001 and is dedicated to the memory of the victims and heroes of that day.

The finale, Wing Ding, is a fast, odd-meter romp that features jazz solos for trombone and trumpet. The title, Flying Circus, comes from my other passion–flying.

  • James Self

Hard copy score. All parts are provided in pdf format on disc.

Parts include: trumpet 1-4 in Bb (flugelhorn for Mvt. 2), horn 1-4 in F, trombone 1-3, bass trombone (euphonium for Mvt. 3), tuba 1-2, percussion 1-3

Additional information

Weight 12 oz

Included Parts

, , , , , ,

Ensemble Type