Fantasia sopra motivi dell’opera “La Sonnambula” for Clarinet and Piano

Domenico Mirco, arr. Diane Barger


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: PZA30055 Category:


Using themes from the finales to both acts of Vincenzo Bellini’s 1831 opera, “La Sonnambula,” Domenico Mirco creates a magnificent multi-thematic fantasy for clarinet and piano. The work begins with Amina’s sleepwalking aria “Ah! non credea mirarti” from Act II, Scene 9, which allows the clarinetist to showcase the vocal qualities of the instrument … The final variation features some of the most brilliant clarinet passagework of the fantasy while the theme is clearly stated by the piano. Immediately following this variation, the piano presents the closing Bellini melody from the finale of Act I, “D’un pensiero e d’un accento.” Bellini’s melody is clearly stated in the piano while the clarinet plays arpeggiated figures of ornamentation leading to the final Piu mosso coda. This coda features original material by Mirco and concluces the fantasy with additional opportunities for the clarinetist to display technical prowess. Mirco dedicated this piece to his student Giovanni Zenon.

–Diane Barger

Solo parts included: Clarinet in Bb

Additional information

Weight 6.4 oz


Included Parts

Featured Instrument

Ensemble Type