Eine Kleine Nachtmusik for Trombone Quartet

W.A. Mozart, arr. James Meador


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: PZA80187 Category:


“After hearing several particularly inspiring performances at the International Trombone Festival, James Meador felt compelled to produce this arrangement for trombone quartet of Serenade, the first movement from Eine Kleine Nachtmusik by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Mozart composed Eine Kleine Nachtmusik in 1787 for string quartet with optional double bass, but the piece is often performed by full string orchestra.

Having been written for a small chamber ensemble, the piece lends itself well to the setting of trombone quartet, with the exception of the agility required on trombone to execute the piece in a style appropriate for the music of Mozart. It is for that very reason that Meador felt this would be an excellent addition to the trombone quartet repertoire, and upon hearing the musicianship and agile technique of the performers at the festival, he felt the piece would be a perfect fit for the trombone quartet.

This version features some difficult multiple tonguing passages, as well as some technically challenging ornamental figures that can be tricky for trombonists. The range is not particularly difficult, with the possible exception of the bass trombone player, who must tongue quickly in the lower and pedal registers. Style is of the utmost importance and should be as precise as possible.”

-James Meador

Score and Parts Included: Trombone 1,2,3, and Bass Trombone

Additional information

Weight 6 oz


Included Parts

Ensemble Type