Mozart: Flute Concerto in D Major, K. 314, arr. for Bassoon and Piano (printed and shipped)

W.A. Mozart, arr. Myles Mingyuan Yang


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: PZA40022-S Category:


The piano reduction is based on Carl Burchard’s edition which was published by Leipzig: Breitkopf und Hartel, Plate V.A. 2577. The arrangement is kept in the original key for bassoon players to better know the original work. Using the original key will also help students find piano collaborators. The bassoon part in this edition is transposed and edited by Mingyuan Yang from traditional flute practice. Some phrases have been modified to better suit the bassoon. Some dynamic markings have been added and edited in the solo part by the editor. Grace notes before trills have been omitted so performers can choose for themselves to either start on the upper auxiliary or lower auxiliary. The piano reduction has been modified to keep the chord relationship and better fit with the bassoon texture via octave displacement in certain sections to keep the appropriate harmonic relationship of the bassoon line. Cross staff chords are rearranged to stay in the same system with clef changes. Some dynamic markings and articulations in the piano reduction have been modified to enhance balance and match articulation with the bassoon.

NOTE: Mozart arranged the music of this concerto in two different keys, C major for oboe and D major for flute, both numbered K. 314. The flute edition is the easier choice for the player who wants to learn and perform this music. The oboe edition is the more challenging of the two because the range is high on bassoon, making it an effective work to show off the top register of the instrument. Conversely, the more accessible bassoon range of the flute edition allows ample opportunity to display lyrical expression.

Edited for bassoon by Myles Mingyuan Yang.

Score and parts included: bassoon

Additional information

Weight 0.53 oz


Ensemble Type


Included Parts

Featured Instrument

You may also like…