Caravaggio for Solo Trombone

John Stevens


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: PZA80199 Category: Tag:


From the composer:

Caravaggio for solo trombone was composed in 2015 for Mark Hetzler, Professor of Trombone at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. It is a four-movement work of about 9 minutes in length. The work was inspired by the incredible artistry of the Italian painter Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio (1571-1610). His work, ahead of its time in many ways, changed the visual art world forever and has served as inspiration for generations of artists the world over. I see many similarities between his “outside the box” artistry and that of trombonist Mark Hetzler, whose performances and recordings are stunning, eclectic and instrumental in breaking new ground for the trombone.

The movements are titled after four elements of Caravaggio’s painting that stand out to me- Realism, Shadow, Vulgarity and Light. I also see these as elements of Mark Hetzler’s performances. Although I have made many indications to steer the performer in certain directions musically, I also hope and expect that each performer will approach this piece with a passion and abandon that will result in a musical performance that is about much more than notes, rhythms and dynamics. This work is a vehicle for the trombone soloist to be as expressive as possible. A look at the works of Caravaggio, particularly in context with the other well known painters of the time, should provide substantial inspiration.

I. Realism

II. Shadow

III. Vulgarity

IV. Light

  • John Stevens

Part included: Trombone

Additional information

Weight 7 oz

Ensemble Type


Included Parts

Featured Instrument