Groundings for Clarinet in A, Cello, and Piano

Ellen Lindquist


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: 30169 Categories: ,


From the composer:

Groundings reflects the ongoing cycles of “groundedness” and “ungroundedness” that we as human beings all face throughout our lives: cycles in which grounded, balanced states evolve mysteriously into- and emerge out of- ungrounded, chaotic ones. The title also pays homage to the “ground basses” common in music of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

Commissioned by the British contemporary music ensemble Ephyra, Groundings was first performed in November 2004 at the Jacqueline DePre Music Hall in Oxford, England. It was originally scored for alto saxophone, cello, and piano. This transcription for clarinet in A, cello, and piano was premiered at the Banff Centre for the Arts in 2002 by Paul Mulligan, Fanny Bray and Mark Ryser. The production of the original score of Groundings was funded in part by a grant from The American Music Center’s Composer Assistance Program.

  • Ellen Lindquist

Score and parts included: clarinet in A, cello


Additional information

Weight 2.3 oz

Ensemble Type


Included Parts